Saturday, November 29, 2008

The World Loves Its Own

A new blog from PJ Mulvey, an occasional, and very welcome, commentor here, and well worth adding to the blogroll.
PJ seems to be a man after my own heart, writing,
"When a future Gibbon analyzes 21st century western civilization, what will he think of a people whose main occupation was spending and more spending and where shopping malls replaced churches on Sunday as places of worship with posters of half naked models taking the place of the icons of Blessed Virgin Mary and Our Lord?"
That raises the startling question of whether a new Gibbon will ever come forth - Monsieur Pomme de Terre might just have been a once in a civilisation event; and if you don't heed his warnings, you might not get second chances.
On a slightly lighter note, PJ was educated by the Capuchin Fransiscans, and I was with the Jesuits - does this mean we get to gang up on those dangerously liberal Benedictines?
Just kidding...

3 Comments:

Blogger Laban said...

Not just shopping. As a Saturday evening worshipper, I take the kids to rugby on Sunday morns with a slightly clearer conscience. There are at each club at 10 am maybe a hundred children playing and lots of parents - I suppose its an improvement on the shopping centre.

29 November, 2008 10:32  
Blogger PJMULVEY said...

Thank you Martin for the kind comments. The mental disorder, liberalism (in the USA), is once again on the ascendant as years and years of Prozac and hallucinogens have taken its toll on the collective thought processes. In addition, since real history has not been taught in schools since the 1960's, society is bound to make the same mistakes all over again. CHANGE is in the air throughout the world now with the new Messiah (from Chicago and parts unknown!) is ready to take control and bring peace, prosperity and security to the whole world. We, who use reason, as we were taught a 2,500 year tradition of logic and philosophy, have to fight as the rear guard and pronounce the truth and expose the lies. I am proud to be allied with someone steeped in the tradition of St. Edmund Campion, Fr. Robert Southwell and one my favorite preachers and authors, Fr. Bernard Bassett. In hoc signo vinces!

29 November, 2008 17:29  
Blogger Martin said...

PJ,

It would be well worth worth your while reading the blog written by Laban, the guy who posted above you.

You might find him his thoughts to be simpatico with your own.

29 November, 2008 21:28  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home